WA Regional Achievement & Community Awards

2015 Winners of the Western Australian Regional Achievement and Community Awards

All winners with Minister Terry Redman MLA, Minister for Regional Development

Perth Airport Events and Tourism Award
Country Music Club of Boyup Brook, began 30 years ago on an oval in Boyup Brook with 600 country music lovers. Held annually, it is the premier Country Music Festival in Western Australia, attracting upwards of 15,000 people. The Festival caters for all ages and demographics and features Concerts, a Ute and Truck Muster, a Carnival, Workshops and Art Exhibition. In a community of only 1,500, the Club is supported by 60 local organisations and over 250 volunteers. This community spirit enriched by the festival, fosters social cohesion, cultural identity and belonging

Winner of the Perth Airport Events and Tourism Award: Country Music Club of Boyup Brook

Rinehart Development of Northern Regional WA Award
Dadaru of Wyndham, an Indigenous owned and operated Australian company. They deliver effective Aboriginal engagement and capability in marine, civil and mining projects to the oil, gas and mining industries in WA. Dadaru is the Aboriginal name for the Cockburn Ranges signifying local Aboriginal people’s connection to land and sea. Dadaru works collaboratively with community, industry and government to address specific skills shortages. They have developed a successful commercial and community participation model for Indigenous employment, training and retention. Dadaru have built a skilled, experienced and reliable workforce with over 70% being Aboriginal employees

Winner of the Rinehart Development of Northern Regional WA Award: Dadaru Pty Ltd

Insurance Commission of Western Australia Regional Safety Award
East Narrogin Primary School, implements a whole of school approach to embed drug, road safety and resilience education in their curriculum. Students created decorative road safety posters which were displayed at community events, boosting student’s confidence and creating awareness of the school’s road safety culture. Working with police, local government and the health sector, the school provides road safety support for teachers and parents, online resources and take-home information. Initiatives include “Road Aware Kids program”, for 4 to 15 year olds, Newsletter tips on pedestrian and road safety and an infant and child car restraint program 

Winner of the Insurance Commission of Western Australia Regional Safety Award: East Narrogin Primary School

Horizon Power Leadership and Innovation Award 
Richard Wells of Port Kennedy, became the inaugural Officer in Charge of Burringurrah Multi-functional Police Facility, 1,063kms north of Perth in Burringurrah Aboriginal Community. Richard learnt to adapt his thinking by looking at how indigenous children learnt about culture, heritage and the land. Using this knowledge, Richard led the “Boss of My Body” DVD project to address issues such as child abuse prevention, suicide, alcohol and drug prevention. Richard engaged a songwriter and producer to collaborate with the children, allowing them to express what they had learnt about respecting themselves, others and being “Boss of their Bodies”

Winner of the Horizon Power Leadership and Innovation Award: Richard Wells

LandCorp Sustainability Award
City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder's
 vision is “To be a sustainable regional city of the future”. A cutting edge energy system at the Oasis Recreation Centre combines geothermal, solar thermal and solar PV technology, reducing natural gas consumption by 70%. The system saves $160,000 a year and reduces CO2 emissions by over 216 tonnes each year. The reticulation upgrade at the City's Administration Building saves approximately 2.5 million litres of water annually, resulting in a Water Corporation’s WaterWise Council accreditation. The School-to-Home Recycling Project provides Year 5 and 6 students recycling education and a 25Litre bin each for home recycling

Winner of the LandCorp Sustainability Award: City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder

Curtin University Teaching Excellence Award
Dr Sharon Ross of Northam,
 is Principal Lecturer at C.Y. O’Connor Institute. Her teaching practice focuses on involving and empowering students and building their new skills. Creating innovative modifications in delivering the New Opportunities for Women program, Sharon has been a key figure in enabling women in the Wheatbelt to return to study. She designed an online teaching toolkit to assist lecturers with vocational courses for remote students. Her e-learning strategies have enhanced access and participation for Indigenous, remote and disadvantaged learners struggling with literacy, numeracy and employability skills

Winner of the Curtin University Teaching Excellence Award: Dr Sharon Ross

Worldwide Printing Solutions Sports Award
Adrian Dodson-Shaw of Broome
, is an award winning member of the Indigenous Marathon Project Squad. Adrian has run in the New York Marathon, Sydney City2Surf and the Gold Coast Half Marathon. He has been selected as one of only 45 runners for the 2015 North Pole Marathon and will be the first Aboriginal to participate. Adrian is a role model within his community, inspiring others to live a healthy lifestyle and encourages running as a way to do so. He is also the ambassador for the first IMF Warriors Father’s Day run, a project of the Indigenous Marathon Foundation

Winner of the Worldwide Printing Solutions Sports Award: Adrian Dodson-Shaw

Prime Super Community Group of the Year Award
Boddington Hospital Auxiliary, over the last 15 years, has raised $500,000 worth of equipment for the Hospital from the running of the Boddington Op Shop. The Auxiliary in partnership with BHP Billiton have also created an Australian first with the introduction of CareAlert systems being free to all Seniors in the town of Boddington and surrounding areas. The Hospital Auxiliary purchases and installs the CareAlert’s and teach people how to use them. Worn around the neck, all Senior Residents have access to 24 hour emergency call-outs and assistance making for safer independent living

Winner of the Prime Super Community Group of the Year Award: Boddington Hospital Auxiliary